Salisbury Statement on Antisemitism

Today, 27th January 2017, we once again keep Holocaust Memorial Day, ten years on from the planting of the Memorial Tree in Churchill Gardens.

We believe that to keep the memory of Holocaust Memorial Day is to be committed to work for a society in which the political and social conditions which led to that defining act of genocide, will never be repeated.

We are therefore gravely concerned that 2016 has shown that the virus of antisemitism is still strongly alive in Britain and Western Europe, with a 29% increase in police recorded antisemitic hate crime in this country in 2016¹.

In November 2016 the Equalities and Human Rights Commission wrote to national politicians about its concern that divisions are widening and exacerbating tensions in our society and particularly about antisemitism. The Commission said: "We were concerned by the ambivalent reception given to findings of antisemitism in mainstream political parties" and stated "a clear affirmation that such behaviour is unacceptable is necessary to confirm that standards will improve".²

We as residents and leaders of the civic life of Salisbury, welcome the opportunity of Holocaust Memorial Day 2017 to reaffirm our total rejection of all forms of antisemitism³.

Further, we strongly urge all who live and work in our City to find ways to stand against all forms of discrimination, aggressive speech and behaviour and to make 2017 a year in which we resolve to engage warmly and appreciatively with our neighbours and with those whom we encounter daily in our shops, pubs and streets.

We commit ourselves to do all in our power to ensure that our City of Salisbury stands out in our country as a beacon of civility in word and deed.

Signed:

Bishop Nicholas Holtam (Bishop of Salisbury) John Glen (MP) Andy Rhin-Tutt (President, Chamber of Commerce) Councillor Derek Brown (Mayor of Salisbury) Councillor John Collier Councillor Jo Broom **Councillor Atiaul Hogue** Councillor Charles Rogers **Councillor Penny Brown Councillor Colin Froude Councillor Sven Hocking** Councillor John Lindley (Deputy Mayor) Councillor Matthew Dean Councillor Michael Pope Councillor Tom Corbin Councillor Caroline Corbin Councillor Mark Timbrell

Councillor Ian Tomes Councillor Margaret Willmot Councillor Michael Osment Councillor John Walsh Councillor Patricia Podger Revd Guy Wilkinson Tessa Wilkinson Fiona Hulbert Ilana Natelson-Carter Adrian Boyd Alexandra Boyd Jonathan Greening Revd Jonathan Plows Dr Cathy Roberts

Click here to add your signature

¹ http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm201617/cmselect/cmhaff/136/136.pdf

² <u>https://www.equalityhumanrights.com/en/our-work/news/letter-all-political-parties-westminster</u>

³ Official international definition: "Antisemitism is a certain perception of Jews, which may be expressed as hatred toward Jews. Rhetorical and physical manifestations of antisemitism are directed toward Jewish or non-Jewish individuals and/or their property, toward Jewish community institutions and religious facilities."