ANNEX A to Heytesbury Deanery Plan dated NOV 19

Heytesbury Deanery : Mission Areas (as set out in the 2007 Deanery Plan)

1. For the purposes of the Deanery Strategic Plan, the Deanery area has been agreed to be divided into five Mission Areas.

2. The reasons for this grouping of benefices in mission areas include

- the inevitable reduction in the number of stipendiary clergy in the years to come;

- meeting the challenges of Christian mission more effectively by concentrating and building up the strengths of teams of clergy and lay people where they can be most effective;

- developing strong mission work in primary and secondary schools within the deanery;

- enabling a stronger delivery of Christian community service, to the young, the poor, the isolated, the sick, and the elderly, including e.g. Street Pastors, the Foodbank, and pastoral visiting and support.

- 3. The five mission areas are set out below (with some comments on possible future developments):
 - <u>Cley Hill Villages</u> a rural area, comprising the parishes of the Deverills, Horningsham, Corsley and Chapmanslade.
 - (2) <u>Warminster</u> comprising the parishes of St Denys, with Bishopstrow, Boreham and Upton Scudamore (the River Were Benefice) and , Christchurch, as a single urban area. The town of Warminster is set to grow quite fast, and may before long nearly double in population.
 - (3) <u>White Horse</u> also primarily urban, comprising the parishes of Westbury and Dilton Marsh. There has been a proposal to extend this area to some parishes to the east of Westbury, but that proposal has not been accepted by the parishes concerned which fall more naturally into a rural team. The town of Westbury is also set to grow in population.
 - (4) <u>Upper Wylye Valley</u> villages a rural area comprising the parishes of Norton Bavant, Sutton Veny, Heytesbury with Knook and Tytherington, Boyton and Corton, Upton Lovell, Codford St Peter, Codford St Mary and Sherrington.
 - (5) <u>Mere and Upper Stour</u> comprising Mere and the villages of West Knoyle, Maiden Bradley, Zeals, Bourton, Stourton and Kilmington.
- 4. The challenges for each of the mission areas include:

(1) melding the clergy and laity teams within each area for mission purposes;

(2) ensuring that existing Church members can continue to be given what they prefer in the different traditions of the Church;

(3) offering a much greater variety of worship and other activities both inside and away from the Church buildings designed to make the strengths of Christian life known and available to every age group and especially the younger generations;

(4) developing the use of music in worship and other activities in forms more appropriate to the 21st century;

(5) making best use of all who are good with the young, and giving them as much support as possible;

- (6) warmly welcoming young parents and children in our Churches and all our activities;
- (7) strengthening the delivery of Christian community service.
- 5. The aim is to focus on the ways in which the clergy and laity teams in each mission area are meeting these challenges together, and on lessons which can be learned from what other mission areas are succeeding in achieving.